Facebook has activated its feature in the wake of a suspected terror attack in Sweden.

after a lorry drove into crowds in Drottninggatan, a shopping district in Stockholm. 

The feature is designed to allow Facebook users in the area to quickly reassure friends and family members that they’re not in danger.

In pictures: Stockholm truck attack In pictures: Stockholm truck attack

Users can also share the Safety Check on their own timeline or that of a friend, as well as in a group, page, event and private message.

Facebook activates the feature whenever a certain number of people in an affected area post an update about the incident.

“I went to the main street when a big truck came out of nowhere,” a witness told Swedish daily paper Aftonbladet. 

“I could not see if anyone was driving it but it got out of control. I saw at least two being run over. I ran as fast as I could from there.”

Swedish police have issued a warning to the public to avoid Stockholm city centre.

Aftonbladet is reporting that police were ordering people to leave the scene in the immediate aftermath of the incident saying, “Warning – terror attack”.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here